Zbook X2 Just Announced

Discussion in 'Hewlett Packard' started by dv8nathan, Oct 18, 2017.

  1. doobiedoobiedum

    doobiedoobiedum Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Hopefully the offset of older EMR1 pens is because the X2 uses EMR2 - at least that's what I tell myself.! I have tried it myself now and there is definitely an offset with the older pens. As for the X2 pen, I agree everything - I would just prefer it was as heavy and solid feeling as the Dell pen. I just like heavier pens and pencils in non digital art and that translates to digital styli.

    On a side note - in the non digital world, I just made myself a "Frankenpen" for ink and watercolour drawing with my little A5 sketchbook and its weight is just perfect - matches the weight of my clutch pencil so ideally, my digital stylus would be the same.
     
  2. SAM 2013

    SAM 2013 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I have an odd question.
    My speakers are a weak, I can not hear very well most of the time
    unless I get right up next to the screen.

    Then, I installed VirtualBox to run some old Win XP programs.
    The sound through the emulator program is more than twice as loud.

    Why is there more sound through VirtualBox,
    than natively through W indows 10?
    How can I get more sound.

    Thanks
     
  3. Steve S

    Steve S Pen Pro - Senior Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    7,518
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    331
    HP has issued a new BIOS update (Ver. 1.27, IIRC) and an Intel update. Check your HP Support Advisor (small round blue icon in the System Tray at right end of the Task Bar). When installing the BIOS update, be sure to have your X2 plugged in and don't be impatient; there are at least two times during the installation sequence where the X2 appears to not be doing anything!

    Not sure what got updated, but may be connected to the latest Intel chip vulnerability (WannaCry variant) that's been in the news lately.
     
  4. Illustrator76

    Illustrator76 I Draw Pictures

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Anybody have and info/advise on the above question?

    Thanks!
     
  5. Steve S

    Steve S Pen Pro - Senior Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    7,518
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    331
    <<...Why is there more sound through VirtualBox, than natively through W indows 10?..>>

    @SAM 2013 : Stupid question, but you have tried increasing your volume control? Also, you've checked the settings for any volume controls in whatever apps you're running?

    <<...Is anyone else seeing this and have a solution for it?..>>

    @Illustrator76 : Sorry, but I don't use my X2 with any external monitors...
     
    SAM 2013 likes this.
  6. SAM 2013

    SAM 2013 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Yes, for instance, sound is maxed out in VLC both and the speaker icon.
    There is no advanced controls that I have found beyond just the speaker.

    But through VirtualBox, the sound plays at least twice as loud....strange.
    (Win XP emulation)
    Thanks
     
  7. Steve S

    Steve S Pen Pro - Senior Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    7,518
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    331
    HP has issued another (?) Intel Chipset Update. Check your HP Support Advisor.
     
  8. Steve S

    Steve S Pen Pro - Senior Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    7,518
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Just finished installing the Windows 10 May 2019 Update on my X2. The good news: The update installed easily* and seems to be running without any obvious problems.

    * The bad news, for me: I forgot to disconnect the SDcard before starting the install. That caused the installer to report an error mid-way through the process and I then discovered that the "Refresh" button doesn't work. After ejecting the SDcard and restarting the update process from the beginning (Grrrrr…), everything went OK (and at least it didn't download the update files again...).
     
  9. gamefoo21

    gamefoo21 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I regret my choice to get the X360... Damn HP discontinued my model I ordered after accepting it, then I was forced to pick from some other X360s and let me tell you that the FHD screen is depressing. It's nice to have a mirror though so I can stare at myself and question my existence. Heh
     
    triykiy likes this.
  10. Steve S

    Steve S Pen Pro - Senior Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    7,518
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Windows Update provided a HIDClass driver update this morning. In addition, the HP Support Advisor found two driver updates (ALPS and RealTek, IIRC).

    Don't forget to restart at least twice...
     
Loading...

Share This Page