yet another new tablet question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SuperRob, Jul 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smamdani

smamdani Pen Pal - Newbie

Yes, this is yet another new tablet question, though from a former tablet user. I'm a law student, and I had a toshiba portege for about 7 months in 2003. 2 weeks before the first, and most crucial/terrifying, set of finals, the Toshiba died, taking all of my notes with it. Even more wonderfully, the Toshiba service centers around chicago must have thought i was bringing them some sort of alien artifact, as they took well over 2 months to fix the damn thing. Not being capable of being computerless for that time, I got myself a powerbook and have been using that since.

I miss the ink-based computing and the ability to handwrite notes and keep them organized in spite of myself. Therefore, I am in the market for a new tablet. As you might imagine, reliability and service are very high on my list of requirements . I plan to keep my powerbook at home and travel to school and work with the tablet, so portability is important.

Given my previous experience with Toshiba, i'd like to stay away from their products. I've read on this site and others that IBM and Fujitsu are both very reliable. The other brand that I was curious about is Motion, specifically the LE1600. What is motion's reputation for reliability adn service like? Also, is there a pending review of that machine on this site?

Thanks for the help

2. SuperRob

SuperRob Pen Pal - Newbie

You can't beat IBM for reliability. That said, having good backup options will at least save your notes in the event of another disaster.

3. smamdani

I've been on computers since I was about 7, so if anyone should have known better, it was me. Since then, i've almost constantly had my memory key on me and with my notes backed up on it. Live and learn.

4. Barry J. Doyle

Barry J. Doyle Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member