Yet another artist seeking a Wacom alternative

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Waleis, Aug 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Waleis

Waleis Pen Pal - Newbie

To begin, i just want to express my appreciation to all that have contributed to this incredible and exhaustive resource for folks like myself. I am an artist and freelance graphic designer with a starving artist's array of tools. That is to say, extremely limited. I am familiar with Wacom tablets and their digitizer technology that is used in tablets currently but have used an Intuos 4 so briefly that it couldnt count as experience. I couldnt handle the disruption in hand/eye coordination so i promptly returned the product and gave up on the prospect of true digital illustration until the last year or so.

At that time i knew nothing of the availability of tools like the Cintiq or tablet pc/slate products. I was certain that such a thing like drawing and painting directly onto a computer screen was surely still science fiction. One might be so bold as to say I'd been living under a rock, which symbolically, is true with regard to being abreast of rapidly advancing technology.

I only recently revived the interest in digital illustration but with obstacles yet to overcome. I have two young boys and a meager pharmacy technician's salary, so something like the Cintiq is well beyond my financial capabilities.

Now please bear in mind that i have been lurking around these forums, soaking up the wealth of information available here for just under a month now so i have a decent idea of what i want and basic knowledge of what my options are.

That being said, and with regard to the information supplied in the following form, i have one burning question: should i opt for buying cheap, used to get a solid feel for digital illustration and gain funtional experience i can apply to more appropriate tools like the Cintiq?