With all its problems...would you recommend it?

Discussion in 'HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom)' started by herewego, Dec 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. herewego

herewego Pen Pal - Newbie

Thread title is my question:

With all its problems (screen angles, build quality, glossy screen etc)...would you recommend it? I know there may be some bias here but I figure people who own it would know best.

I've been doing research for a tablet pc for a few weeks now, and on paper the tm2t and its price seemed PERFECT. But as I researched and researched, those glaring problems really started to worry me.

If I buy it, I'm going to get an exim screen protector as suggested by forum members so the glare won't be an issue. But things just as build quality and screen angles..no fix.

I'm just a poor med student who has too much information to integrate and commit to memory (hundreds of powerpoints, pdfs, ebooks, publications etc), who would like to play some games (if I ever have time)..

So my options are 1) buy the fully loaded tm2t right now, for ~$900 with shipping and just leave things at that or 2) take out $2k more in loans, and setup a nice desktop for gaming and a higher quality tablet pc for work related stuff.

Also, if I were to get it, should I not get the 500 gig 7200rpm HD? I hear it fails alot? Is that the case with all the 7200 rpm options?

As with everything in the stage of life I'm in, I want things to last so I don't mind taking out the extra money for more quality products..but if I can save myself from taking out extra loans that add to the insane price tag of my medical education, that's all good too.

Any thoughts would greatly be appreciated.

2. DRTigerlilly

DRTigerlilly Tablet Lead Mod (Retired) Super Moderator

I think the tm2 is the best iteration of the hp consumer tablet pc's. I'd suggest going into bestbuy and playing around with it, but I think it would be a fair compromise with the price.

It's a nice little machine.