Windows Tablet - What is the Best

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by WithaVision, Nov 7, 2012.

1. WithaVision

WithaVision Pen Pal - Newbie

I am new to tablets, this will be my first one...

I am looking for a windows tablet that runs windows genuinely just like a laptop. Is it my understanding this is not capable with Windows 8? (isn't this OS on tablets more "app" based?)

For example, if I want to download and install a program, lets say pokerstars on my tablet, run the program and play....is this possible with the Windows 8 tablets?

It would be nice to have wifi and 3G - (by the way are there fee's for 3G with tablet use?)

I am basically looking for the best tablet that runs windows like a laptop, is quick, has decent storage, and has wifi and 3G...I am not looking to do anything crazy with the tablet - just play online poker, browse the internet, type documents, and maybe watch a few videos....

Any help?

Thanks a lot!

2. stoneseeker

stoneseeker Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Any "tabletPC" touting "Windows 8" is a fully functioning tablet running windows. "Media tablets" (like the ipad and the galaxy note) run android and other app based operating systems that you are wanting to avoid.

Windows 8 is the newest windows, and you can treat it as such, however, windows 8 RT is sort of an android-like limited version of Windows 8. You'll want to avoid windows 8 RT devices too, they would not be able to install all windows programs, AFAIK.

As long as a tablet says windows 8, your good to go.

Just clearing that up! I'll let the others on here suggest a good tablet for poker, internet, word, and HD video. I am not really sure which one to recommend, as its not really my area of interest, ( I prefer powerful artist machine tablets) but I DO love playing online poker from time to time!

Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  3. Tablet_Fan

Tablet_Fan Pen Pal - Newbie