WimBoot Dell Venue 8 Pro Guide

Discussion in 'Dell' started by EddCase, May 10, 2014.

1. EddCase

EddCase Pen Pal - Newbie

EDIT: 4th March 2015 - Just a quick note to say I'm working on this again. I'll try and post my progress as I go along from now on. I'm doing all of the code in AutoIt as I've not done any real coding since I was in college 15 years ago and have forgotten most of everything. o_O

I did all of this on a Fully Updated Windows 8.1 Update 64bit Desktop PC. and am Imaging a Dell Venue 8 Pro 32GB with Firmware version 5, This should work on a 64GB model but I have no way to test. I have seen other methods for getting this to work but I like to know whats being put on my devices. I am an IT technician but I'm no expert on using the windows imaging tools and have only built on others work. That being said I have followed this through a couple of times and it works for me. You will need a USB2GO cable, A USB Hub, USB keyboard and Mouse and 1x 8GB USB Stick for the WinPE WimBoot and some way to Install the Latest Windows 8.1 Update to your device (I used a second USB Stick) I would Recommend you fully charge your Dell Venue 8 Pro before attempting this.

Introducing WimBoot Setup Tool

v0.1.jpg

What Can it do?

PreRequisites
    Download and Setup Windows ADK for Windows 8.1 - it installs the Windows Preinstallation Environment and Deployment Tools (Warning! This is around a 3Gb Download/Install)
    Download the required Windows 8.1 Update files required to update the Windows PE Image to 5.1
    Download the Dell Venue 8 Pro Drivers
    Download UNetbootin which is used to create the USB stick Version 0.3 uses Rufus

Windows PE 5.1 Image
    This will do as it says will Using the Windows ADK Mount the 5.0 Image add The Update Files, and Dell Drivers Optimize and output an ISO

USB Stick