Whats up with 7" Windows tablets? missing the boat.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Alchemist, Nov 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alchemist

Alchemist Scribbler - Standard Member

I've noticed that it doesn't look like many/any PC makers are releasing new 7" windows tablets, and its getting harder to find the few low end ones that are left for sale. Doing Searches I've found articles about there not being any windows tablets in 7" form factors, etc.

I've had a 7" HP Stream 7 for about a year now and while not as beefy spec wise as I would like it fits a long missing need... the 'coat pocket' or 'back pocket' computer. Back in the day this was filled by the HP 200LX DOS machine ready for instant number crunching with Lotus 1-2-3, etc. and then filled not nearly as well by smart phones... but the 7" windows tablet works great in that role... I work in IT and use my phone as a hotspot so that little 7" goes places an 8" just doesn't fit but still lets me manage servers remotely or anything else I need to do with a PC.

Ideally I'd love to see a 7" with 2gb memory, 64bit windows to ease VPN software availability and a mini HDMI. A second USB port would make it pretty much perfect.

But... it doesn't look like even HP is following up the Stream 7 with a Windows 10, cherry trail upgrade. Everything looks 8" and larger... seriously a 10" can go anywhere an 8" can go... neither fits in a coat pocket... So if i have to carry a separate device instead of just pocket it... I'll carry a 10" as its more functional.

I think PC makers are really missing something here.

2. Bronsky

Bronsky Wait and Hope. Senior Member

My 5.7" Galaxy Note does most of what I did on my Asus Note 8. Plus make calls. Fits in a back pocket.

3. Alchemist

It all depends on your usage...