What I use - early 2014

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by ecoeco, Mar 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ecoeco

ecoeco Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi all

Warning: this is a long post!

I thought it might be interesting to go over the 2014 updates to my system. 2013 was a great year for tablet PC people with lots of different devices turning up and increased maturity of the various tablet echo systems.

I've been using tablet PCs since the TC1000 in 2004 and fully paperless since 2010. Here is what I am using today.

My needs:

Work:
    I work as a mid level executive in a corporate support function. About 80% of the time I am in meetings with 20% of my time at my desk. I need to review documents (Word and PDF) and be able to quickly access the right information at the right time. I don't have great access to wifi and so need 3G/LTE built into whatever device I use. My employer doesn't use much communications technology - just email and phone calls. Most of the stuff I need to read turns up in email form.

Home:
    I am are paperless as home as well. The majority of our home needs are web access, photos, books, scanning mail, skype and video.

Study:
    I am back at university this year so I am attending lectures, reading articles and writing assignments.

Software:

We've reached the stage that I can buy hardware around the software that I use. My main apps are:

Evernote
    After 8 years of using onenote everyday I have switched to Evernote. This was the big change for me in 2013. I find Evernote is just better than onenote. Why?

1. Getting information in is easier:
    I can save files into a directory and Evernote automatically imports them.
    I have an Evernote email address and Evernote automatically imports anything I send there
    Evernote is on every device I use.
    Both onenote and evernote can quickly archive email from outlook.

2. Finding information is easier