Web Browsing - couldnt we do better?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows 7' started by marketgarden, Sep 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marketgarden

marketgarden Pen Pal - Newbie

I've been using a friends ipad2 recently and have found the web browsing and ebook reading a real joy compared to what I've become used to with windows.

Is the extra smooth scrolling, pinching etc purely down the the system focusing all of its resources on one program at a time? (note- i refuse to use the word app like an idiot) As far as I'm aware it is but I'm no expert.

If it is, then why dont we have a web browser (or any low impact software) on windows that can achieve the same thing? Something that takes over the system, for one program at a time, that can be opened up via the desktop when we dont want to use programs like photoshop or other cpu/ram melting software we have, infact anything that doesnt require a full windows 7 interface.

In my head it should be easy but like I say I'm no pro...

I wonder if dual booting with Android would be a solution, bypass windows 7 alltogether.

2. excalibur1814

excalibur1814 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Tweaking removes a whole load of overhead from a system which will reduce cpu time to a constant 0%. If a machine is running many processes in the background then it will seem sluggish.

Opera mobile is probably what what you're looking for and things will change when Windows 8 hits.

As far as the iPad doing what it does while looking extra smooth... My HD7 mobile phone is so very smooth that it hurts but it's designed to be as simple as possible. Apart from Zoom in/out on Windows 7 scrolling and reading ebooks is also very, very good. Applications will appear from nowhere once Windows 8 hits

How To : Enable Smooth Scrolling Across Browsers in Windows >> Pallab dot Net

3. marketgarden

Yep, I'm expecting Windows 8 to solve all sorts of issues.