W500 and Windows 8?

Discussion in 'Acer (Gateway)' started by almostinsane, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. almostinsane

    almostinsane Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  2. Flamingfarts

    Flamingfarts W500 owner

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  3. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    how would you boot it? would you wipe out the Windows 7 and install the 8?
    Or would you partition the 7 and make just enough room to Dual Boot Windows 8?
    I am running out of ideas, i tried to run off an external HDD but that is just not happening.. I am about ready to wipe out the whole 32gb SSD and install 8. I want to try Win8 on a tablet so bad. Even though Engadget has a vid of 8 on a W500. i want to see for myself...
     
  4. almostinsane

    almostinsane Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I did a fresh install of win8. Backed up the Win7 image with Acronis Trueimage first so I can easily roll back.
     
  5. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  6. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    This is so cool!
    Im typing on Windows 8 now. Then W500 should have been like this the whole time.
    I lost my auto rotate and cant get it back...
     
  7. sullitf

    sullitf Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm trying to install 8 on my new w500 and realized I don't know how to boot off the USB. Is there a magic key combo to get me a boot drive menu?

    EDIT: scratch that, answered my own question. Accessed the bios by holding start+power when rebooting, then hitting F12 after the cursor appears in the top left corner. Installing Windows 8 now, lets hope this goes well!
     
  8. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hey Sullitf, I'm glad you figured it out. I used the Windows 7 USB/DVD download tool along with the proper .iso.
    Installation when well, I turned my head for 20 mins, then all the sudden it was at the Personalize screen :)

    Source: Microsoft Store Online
     
  9. parks4619

    parks4619 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have been using it for a couple of days. No real problems, except multitasking not working for me.
     
  10. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Known bugs [as reported on other public sites] (hey a free beta cant be perfect):
    No Flicks.
    Many Accelerometers dont work. (So auto rotate wont work)
     
  11. excalibur1814

    excalibur1814 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There's a setting somewhere in the new control panel that defines if an app or how many apps stay open (Apparently.. not seen it yet as I don't have a suitable tab... Realised, however, that I have an M400 in the spare room!)
     
  12. hoffmansweb

    hoffmansweb Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    installed it last night. runs really good for a preview. I got rotate to work(had to install driver and Auto Screen Rotation Blocker)
     
  13. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    what driver please!? I installed the blocker, and i see it running in services.
     
  14. shivamparikh

    shivamparikh Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You need to install the Device Control Application. THat worked for me as well but after my next reboot it stopped again. So I assume there are quirks. Can anyone explain the steps for a working rotation on Windows 8. I don't seem to be able to get it working after a lucky first time.


    By the way I have been testing the Acer W500 since around three days.

    Web Cam drivers both front and back were auto detected without driver manipulation / installation.

    I have noticed that using ALT+CTRL+DEL to quit applications is not a good thing.

    I have one more bug not reported. When not using the keyboard if the user uses the tablet, goes to Pictures and begins a slide show you can not get out and have it stopped without ALT+CTR+DEL. This becomes annoying since each time you try to go to the desktop it will continue the slide show in progress unless Forecefully stopped using ACD (Alt Ctrl Del).
     
  15. shivamparikh

    shivamparikh Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    PS - how does Auto Screen Rotation Blocker help ? Isnt that software to stop the rotation???
     
  16. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Maybe its for that physical hardware switch that we have. I saw it installed on the Windows 7, so I thought why not give it a shot :)

    Source:

    http://support.acer.com/us/en/product/default.aspx?tab=1&modelId=3853
     
  17. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Woo Hoo, my Auto Rotate works like a charm, I Rebooted and Shutdown, works great.
     
  18. shivamparikh

    shivamparikh Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Auto Rotate works on Win 8 after a couple of good reboots? Can anyone explain step by step process of installation and testing for the same. I have tried this over and over but seems it doesnt stick around after the first reboot.
     
  19. Solom01

    Solom01 Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Quick question to those of you who have installed Windows 8, what's the battery life like? I've seen some complaints about battery life being wretched since as a preview drivers aren't optimized, etc. and just wanted to see if any of you had any comments on how this effects the W500?
     
  20. {StatuSChecKa}

    {StatuSChecKa} Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I love battery life. Windows 8 on the 500 is definitely not a negative in regards to battery.
     
Similar Threads: W500 Windows
Forum Title Date
Acer (Gateway) w500 windows 8.1 broken rotation Nov 10, 2013
Acer (Gateway) Acer Iconia W500 Windows 8 Installation Progress. May 20, 2013
Acer (Gateway) W500 slow down with Windows Update Nov 16, 2012
Acer (Gateway) Format / Clean Install of Windows 8 on W500 Oct 28, 2012
Acer (Gateway) How to downgrade back to Windows 7 while on Windows 8?(AcerW500 Iconia) Aug 19, 2012

Share This Page