Vivotab Note 8 pen stopped working

Discussion in 'Asus' started by graki, Feb 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SAM 2013

    SAM 2013 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Auto Self Destruct has begun!

    My 2nd Asus had a frozen pen yesterday.
    Wacom HID Error.

    Various black magic tricks re-enabled it......for now!
    Backing up files and calling for RMA.

    Thought maybe I had a good one. 02-2014 Man date.
    Had it since end of April.

    Only a matter of time before KABOOM!
     
  2. nicopizza

    nicopizza Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I was among the very first who bought the VivoTab Note 8 here in Europe (January 22, 2014)...
    it served me well, but now it is going RMA for the third time...

    The first was the pen issue: they did fix it and experienced it again once or twice, but then never again. The side on the USB however was creaking, obviously due to the fixing...
    This leads to the second RMA: it was enough for my little kid to push the USB just a bit too strong and the thing would not charge anymore...
    It just came back this past Tuesday, but the touchscreen is not working anymore (actually it did the same as the pen issue: I went to disable and re-enabled the driver, then turned it off, then on again and it would work for a few minutes... then all over again!)... so I guess the guy who fixed the USB did not do a clean job closing the thing...
    So, Monday my Note 8 is leaving for the third trip to Turin to be fixed... I kindly asked them to replace it since I badly need it at work, and cannot wait for a "fixed-but-compromised" tablet...

    I was wondering: how on earth can they fix this little thing without compromising something else in the process?
    I do not expect to have it back perfectly working, so, in spite of all the trouble I went through with this little monster, I was planning to get a new one, so the question goes:
    does anyone know if the white version of the Note 8 (32gb) has pen issues too?
     
  3. Mesosphere

    Mesosphere Geek. Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,313
    Likes Received:
    2,060
    Trophy Points:
    331
    SAM 2013 and fishdavis like this.
  4. michaelws

    michaelws Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Thanks Meso for the possible fixit post. I have subscribed to that thread. Good luck and please keep us posted as to the results...good or bad. Much appreciated.
     
  5. SAM 2013

    SAM 2013 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    56
  6. michaelws

    michaelws Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Splungers, baking and squirrels? Not familiar with those terms.
     
  7. Kumabjorn

    Kumabjorn ***** is back Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    2,586
    Trophy Points:
    231
    You'd have to go back some 30 pages or do to understand it.

    Sent from my SC-01F using Tapatalk
     
  8. Mesosphere

    Mesosphere Geek. Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,313
    Likes Received:
    2,060
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I am a long way from expecting this to last but my touch has not stopped working since I buttoned it back up. When I put it back together I tried not to allow the cable to bend as sharply as it was bent before. It was failing about every other time I put it to sleep before.
     
    fishdavis likes this.
  9. chrismariusb

    chrismariusb Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apparently, loading optimized BIOS defaults is a thing to try. Ionno if it's already been mentioned here, since I haven't read all 100 pages of comments, but it worked for me.
     
  10. michaelws

    michaelws Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Being a non-techie senior are there dummy-proof instructions for loading optimized BIOS defaults? I was told not too mess around in there if I didn't know what I was doing...same with the registry via Regedit.

    And, Mesosphere, did you already replace the cable and now it is working or did you just straighten out the existing cable

    Thanks..
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page