visually impaired: could i use a tablet?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by noeyewar, Feb 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. noeyewar

noeyewar Pen Pal - Newbie

Hey. Here comes a few questions your probably don't see every day, but hope someone can help giving some answers.

I am studying software engineering at a university in Denmark, and i
    have a very poor vision (about 5%)

the last 7-8 years i have been using my laptop, with a screen magnifier called zoomtext http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6hrfRCW67U , to everything school related, from math to note taking. But i find it harder and harder to rely only on the computer taken notes. Especially
    in math and in construction of algorithms and so on i finds it nessasary to be able to make drawings. There are off cause the old pen and paper way, but i can only read/write notes by hand, when using special magnifying equipment, so i would like to keep all notes electronic.
    so i have fallen in love with the idea of using an tablet pc to write notes, but i see a whole bunch of potential problems.

first off, i would like to use my tablet under a video magnifier:
    http://images.google.dk/images?rlz=...ideomatic Lux&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&hl=da&tab=wi

as your can see this consists of a x-y plate that can be moved. a camera is looking down on this plate magnifying and sending the image to a monitor.

how do your think the tablet screen would work under such a camera? i am mostly concerned about the powerful light (that can't be turned off) i am nerves that it totally gonna kill the contrast of the screen, but what do your think?

i also have access to a 24" inch monitor. i could hook the tablet up to this, and just write on the tablet while looking at the big screen but i need some way of knowing where "my pen is" without looking at the tablet, is it possible to get a visible mouse pointer while hovering over the screen with the pen?