Unexpected use of rear facing camera...

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by dceggert, Nov 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dceggert

dceggert Owner of a TabletPC Museum Senior Member

I will explain the 'unexpected' reference in a moment but I would first like to explain that I have been a TabletPC user for quite some time (about 7 years) and I did not think I would ever 'need' the rear facing camera on my new Fujitsu Q550. Over the months I have owned it I have found some good uses for it on many occasions.

I first started exploring by taking a photo of a document, pasting it into OneNote, and then using the OCR capabilities to copy text. Pretty slick. I now use it as a portable scanner on occasion.

The next use I found is to take photo evidence of issues at work (I test things for a living). I found I could snap a picture, write a summary in OneNote, save it as a pdf, then mail it to the team. This is a great feature and time saver.

But today I found a use that absolutely takes the cake! I was working in tight quarters to fix the furnace in my motorhome. Faced with the need to record the furnace s/n I was perplexed to find the tag on top of the unit between it and the cabinet it is built into. I could not read it outright, and I found my dentistry skills severely lacking using my inspection mirror, and I even tried to get it out of the cabinet but failed (they build the furnace in, then install the #?<! cabinets). I sat and tried to think, frustrated as usual.

I then thought I would try my rear camera as a literal shot in the dark. I put my trouble light where it would shine on the tag and then slid my Q550 into the gap between the furnace and the cabinet. I snapped the picture and then removed the computer to see if I could read it. To my amazement it was crystal clear! Wow, totally unexpected!