ultralight tablet for engineering?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by P8RSON, Dec 19, 2006.

1. skisteven1

skisteven1 Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi all,
    (long I know, summary at bottom)

I hate to be that one guy who asks the same question for the millionth time, but I haven't seen anyone ask specifically about the size of the various tablets...

I'm an engineering student whose 1.4Ghz Banias laptop just died (ie. I'm not used to top of the line). While it's too late to worry about getting a new one for this semester, I think I'd really like to get a tablet to last the next year and a half. I also do a lot of part time work as a systems consultant and sysadmin. Most of the time it would be used for taking notes in class, or working in MS Word, or Mathematica.

I have a couple of deciding factors though. I will NOT put up with XGA res. I absolutely hate it. I had 1280x800 on my last laptop and that was barely acceptable. I really love the SXGA+ or 1440x900 that toshiba does.

My last laptop was kind of heavy (~6lbs), and for that reason I wouldn't always carry it when I should have been. I've decided that I REALLY want something small and light for my new one. Other computers I've looked at include the little dell xps machine, or the tiny sony machines (those are both less than 3lb). Obviously I'm not going to find a tablet of this size, but I really do want something small.

The other requirement is that it has to have a great battery life. I'm ok with extra weight due to a secondary battery -- but I have to be able to use it all day without a charge -- at LEAST 4 hours. MINIMUM. 5 would be great.

So near as I can tell, the X60 seems to be the forerunner due to the small screen and large battery life, though the T4215 also seems pretty good. Price isn't a non-issue, but I'm willing to spend to get the right computer. Just not 500 more than the next competitor, lol.