Tying up some loose ends (M4 questions)

Discussion in 'Toshiba' started by Rutten, Feb 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rutten

Rutten Pen Pal - Newbie

I am brand new to tablets, but largely due to this site and its forums, I've decided to buy a Toshiba M4. I tried out a R15 at Circuit City and enjoyed it. I've just got a few questions about the M4 before I place my order, and I figured you could help me out.

I plan on using it mostly for sketching and graphic design, and I've seen Wacom's Pennable technology always recommended to artists. This is why I decided against the cheaper Gateway, but I wanted to make entirely sure: the M4 supports Pennable, right?

I'm also getting a Bstrong shield. Do these affect pen sensitivity?

The M4 on Newegg (which I'm planning on getting) comes with 512 MB RAM. Looking at a M4 spec sheet, I see Kingston makes it. What I can't figure out is what RAM to order on Newegg if I want to buy another chip. Here's the product page:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16834114178

Any help on that? I'd like to order a memory upgrade when I get it.

Thanks for your help.

2. Rutten

Rutten Pen Pal - Newbie

Whoops, I probably should have posted this in the Toshiba forum. Sorry about that.

ADMIN NOTE: THIS THREAD HAS BEEN MOVED.

3. Barry J. Doyle

Barry J. Doyle Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Hi Rutten,

I will try to address your questions the best I can...

1. Yes, the M4 is certified "Penabled" Wacom Technology. See the site for the complete list: http://www.wacom.com/tabletpc/oem.cfm

2. The screen overlay should not reduce sensitivity of your display. You should expect however that the texture of the overlay may differ from the surface on the screen.