Toughbook Cf18 Questions

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by Sergei, Oct 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LindsayO

LindsayO Pen Pal - Newbie

I'm very new to tablets and this forum. ...... (originally from a pm) There are a couple on e-bay here in the UK at the moment and I was wondering if this might be a good way to get a real bargain.

I have lots of questions, and I apologise in advance if the information is publicly available -- I have looked on the Panasonic website -- but I'm finding very confusing as they keep directing me back and forth between different country sites

Anyway here are my questions.
    1. Screen configurations: there seem to be two versions : one with pen-only input, the other with a touchscreen -- if I buy a pen-only version can I reconfigure it for finger input?
    2. If Windows XP Pro is installed can I also install Windows Tablet -- should I?
    3. Panasonic is bringing out the new CF-19 and talks about backward compatability with previous hardware -- do you know what this means -- could I for instance replace the CF18's cpu or motherboard with a CF19's?

Thanks for your time
    Lindsay

2. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

No.... The pen has the ability to send the digital charge back to the screen.

Yes and Yes..... With XP Tablet Ed you will get all the items such as the Tablet PC Input Panel and Control Panel programs that will allow you to use the machine to it's best use.

It is probably relating to other items you can plug in like the docking station etc.
    It would not relate though to items such as Motherboards.
    Motherboards are integral parts of the tablet system, an individual can not simply exchange one motherboard for another.
    CPU's can also be problematic to alter. First question you would need to find out is if it is a socketed CPU or soldered.
    If it's socketed, that's the first step in looking to change it ticked.

3. LindsayO