Tecra M4 Interrogation

Discussion in 'Toshiba' started by Kenobi, Dec 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kenobi

Kenobi Pen Pal - Newbie

Before I say anything, don't be put off because I'm wordy! All I'm trying to find out is the usual, "Is this a good system for me?" and some other questions about the Tecra M4.

That aside, I think it'd be wise to say what I'd be using the laptop for and describe the laptop I was thinking about getting. I'm an eleventh-grade student, so college isn't the far off. In the meantime, I'd like to be able to use the tablet in as many classes as I can, whether it's number-crunching in Algebra II, note-taking in AP US History, using programs like Illustrator, Photoshop, and Dreamweaver in my visual communication and graphic design classes, and normal writing in AP Language and Creative Writing. I also spend a rather big chunk of time as a web designer and graphic artist to earn money, and I'm sure that as summer and college get even closer, I'll be doing that even more. Also, I play video games, like Civilization IV. I'm no doubt also going to be watching videos and listening to music on my laptop, and though I don't think I'll be editing these two types of multimedia very much, I do play guitar, so there's admittedly a slim chance I'll want to be able to work with what I make there. Also, though I probably won't be making any insanely intense programs, I'd like to learn to program a little bit this summer, and who knows where that'll lead? Anyway, that should give you a pretty good idea of how I'll use the laptop. Now, here's what I'm thinking of buying:

-Intel Pentium M Processor 760 (2.00 GHz)
    -256MB of RAM (Cheapest option since I'd like to upgrade later)
    -40GB at 5400rpm (Cheapest option for same reason, but I also might build or make a giant external drive later)
    -8X DVD Super Multi-drive (Double Layer)
    -Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG (802.11b/g)
    -No Bluetooth