Taction, A Touch-Centric Art Panel

Discussion in 'Software' started by FlameStream, Oct 1, 2017.

1. FlameStream

FlameStream Pen Pal - Newbie

Taction is an input panel that is designed to be used with touch, focusing on artists' needs.

upload_2017-10-1_20-33-34.png

This is a personal project that I've decided to publish to get a bit of early feedback. Being a hobbyist artist myself, I'm currently using it with Clip Studio Paint and iterating over it to fit my needs. Hopefully it will be useful to other people around here.

Features
    The main features are the following:
    • Mouse/Pen/Touch differentiation
      • The panel only responds to touch input. On mouse or pen detection, it automatically hides itself and lets you click on anything under it. As touch-designed buttons tend to be big, this actually doesn't remove any precious screen space.
    • Simultaneous Touch+Pen Handling
      • Inferred from the above point. The panel lets you use touch and pen input while working. A typical usage is an eyedropper button; Holding down that button would enable the eyedropper tool and let you pick colour at the same time with the pen until you let go of the button.
    • Fairly customizable with little requirement
      • A full layout can be made with a single JSON file. If images or custom font is wanted, they can be grouped into a bundle file for simple distribution.
    Downloading

The application can be downloaded from

Upon launching an icon will be added to the Notification area (aka tray area) and display the default panel. You may edit the provided layout.json file and load it through the right-click context menu of the notification icon.

upload_2017-10-1_20-31-12.png
    All options are through this menu.​

Known Minimum Requirements
    • .NET Framework 4.6.1 (Comes with Windows 10 November 2015 Update)
    Tested On

Surface Pro 4
    Windows 10 Creators Update 64-bit
    CLIP STUDIO PAINT​

Questions