Tablets: PDF handling and Palm Rejection experiences

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by drvenom, Nov 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drvenom

drvenom Scribbler - Standard Member

I don’t intend to make this an Android vs Windows post. I want to express certain aspects of each platform and ask if you guys have any suggestions on how I can improve my user experience in each platform.
    I am a mathematician and an economist so I ink a lot; I get to write equations and proofs all day long . Thus far, I have not found any application that can rival Onenote 2013 when it comes to writing notes and keeping them organized. Hence, it was a natural decision to get a Windows based tablet. In addition, I needed a tablet with a long battery life (8 ~12 hours) so I ended up opting for an atom based tablet.

I purchased the Samsung 500T with the 1.8GHz Z2760 atom processor. This tablet is an awesome dedicated note taking tablet with a few yet significant caveats. Let me get right to those ugly caveats. The palm rejection feature on this tablet is horrible. I can’t ink for more than a minute without having my palm activate something in Onenote. For example, sometimes I’m inking in Onenote and my palm will activate the screen and shift or zoom the page that I am inking on. My solution to this problem was to use shortcuts to enable and disable the touch feature. This works fine if you are just inking, but it is a pain if you need touch in order to read pdf’s or browse the net while you also ink.