Tablet - Yes or No ?????

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by poetdante, Dec 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Casse

Casse Pen Pal - Newbie

I am in the market to purchase either a notebook or tablet as I need to be able to travel and my desktop is about ready to crash.

I was in Bestbuy last weekend and noticed the Gateway tablet on display. It was a convertible model that worked as a tablet or notebook. I was also told by an HP rep that they have a great one available as well.

So my question is:
    Why purchase a tablet over a notebook?

I'm a total newbie at portable computing so please help :eek:

2. Daring

Daring Moderator

Depends on your need. A tablet is still a notebook (at least the convertible types), but the cost is generally more for a similarly equipped tablet. Further there are at present no tablets which compete with the highest end notebooks.

If your primary purpose will be to type up documents and surf the web I see little benefit in a tablet, particularly when cost is factored in. However, I use my tablet in meetings quite a bit where I have created the document previously in Word, PowerPoint, etc. and need to mark up changes while in the meeting. A tablet can't be beat. There is no way I could keep up with the pace of the meeting and capture all of the information I need with the structure a keyboard forces on you. For example I can circle a paragraph in red that needs to be rewritten in 2 seconds. Finding the bottom of the paragraph and keying in something like "rewrite paragraph" would take much longer. Further, if you need to create any quick graphs or drawings the pen is mightier then the trackpad.

It all comes down to need. I will tell you that I was somewhat skeptical that I would actually find much benefit in the tablet. Now however I am a total convert.

3. poetdante

poetdante Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member