Tablet to increase studying productivity( Urgent, I can't last much longer)

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by fldrice, May 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sharaktengu

sharaktengu Scribbler - Standard Member

Really need help guys

Ok , I just moved to Japan a month ago on a 5 year scholarship that gives me money to live each month, first year I'm studying japanese , and then I move on to college after examinations.
    Right now I rly rly feel the need for a tablet, and next year in College I will need one no matter what. When learning japanese the most important thing is writing Kanji( japanese characters). Since I know what they mean but I don't know their readings I have no way of inputing them by keyboard, except of course the brutal method, look into a dictionary, which takes allot of time .

I'm looking for something I can modify , as in putting an ssd( which I will buy seperately since they're cheap here ) without voiding the warranty, Ram as well if It has under 2gigs. Need lots and lots of battery, although I am considering an external battery.
    I need it to move flawlessly with a webbrowsing and Office Onenote, Intel Atom n270 won't do the job with xp on it as I've tested. I need it to increase my productivity over my normal laptop when studying not the other way around.

Japanese website for best shop prices :

http://kakaku.com/pc/tablet-pc/

1. What is your budget?
    Cheaper the better, If It's future proof for 2 years , even 2500$, however since windows 7 is coming and multitouch is starting to scratch the surface of it's true potential, I doubt it. So better make it around 1000 since I'm planning on buying something next year or as soon as something mindbreaking comes to replace it.
    2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished?
    If it does the job ofc
    3. Do you prefer a Slate, Convertible or Ultra Mobile PC (UMPC)?
    Not rly but I lean to the keyboard side