Tablet pc vs graphic tablets

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by lucicam, Mar 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lucicam

lucicam Pen Pal - Newbie

First of all I'm sorry if there was one another topic on the same subject but I was not able to find it, point me to it pls :).
    If not, hello, I'm pretty new to digitally drawing and there are some really good benefits to it and I'm considering of buying something to go with it. Now I'm thinking between a graphic tablet (Intuos) or some tablet PC. I tried them both and I prefer drawing on screen, it's more natural and it feels like you're improving your on paper drawing too along with it. Although tablet PCs would be exactly what I'm interested in, there are 2 problems that come with it: the price is too hight and the performance too low. Now the graphic tablets... the problem with this is that it seems really unnatural to draw somewhere and look somewhere else and also you can't really draw properly unless you're at a desk(not that like would really be a problem but I had to say it). First time I tried to draw on one I was barely able to write properly, not even talking about drawing. I've read all around the internet that you get used to it but another thing is that I feel your drawing skills don't really improve on paper because the strokes you're doing are pretty small and also since you're not looking at what you're drawing the brain can't really improve your drawing altogether. (I still have a long way to go, It's pretty much a new hobby I picked up. I've been drawing random things all my life but I never really got into it until now.
    PS. I need to buy a laptop anyway so a tablet pc could be an option, if not I'll just get a laptop with a graphic tablet ... depending on the answers I get here xD.
    I'm sorry for any mistakes in the text, english is my second language. Also thank you for your time answering my question :)

2. lucicam

lucicam Pen Pal - Newbie