Tablet for Network Engineer?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by escher, Jun 6, 2011.

1. escher

escher Pen Pal - Newbie

I am considering going to a tablet for it's size/weight convenience and I have a very specific application.

I'm a network engineer and I would want to be able to do wireless surveys, log into networking equipment, use the standard corporate business software (MS Office), e-mail, connect to the 'net via a cell system (Dunno which "G". Don't know if I care.)

Here's my questionnaire:

General Questions.

1. What is your budget?

I'm not really worrying about budget at this time. Not that I'm wealthy or anything, and I do prefer to pay as little as possible for everything I own, but if I buy a tablet it will be a tool, not a toy; and tax deductible.

2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished?

Absolutely. As long as I could feel safe about the vendor.

3. Do you prefer a Slate, Convertible or Ultra Mobile PC (UMPC)?

I think probably a Slate, although I can see where a UMPC could be handy and I would certainly consider anything that fits my needs.

4. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?

I think that would be pretty subjective and I couldn't answer definitively, but I also know that I am far more likely to find a larger screen more comfortable to use. WEIGHT is a big issue. I want something lighter and slimmer than a laptop, which makes convertibles a wee bit pointless in ANY size.

5. Which country do you intent to purchase from?

The USA.

6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?

Nope.

7. How many hours battery life do you require?

The more the better, but dual batteries and/or a hot swappable setup of some type would make up for limits here. As long as there's a way for me to quickly and easily change a low battery for a fresh one without having to power down, I'm good.

8. What will be the primary usage scenario of this tablet?