Tablet for CAD uses ?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by berengsek, Aug 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berengsek

berengsek Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi all !

I'm looking for a tablet to replace my aging notebook (Acer Travelmate 4503WLCi).

The one that I'm aiming for is Fujitsu T4220U/N, since I could get student discount for that.

I'm an architect, so my everyday uses would include AutoCAD 2008, Adobe CS3 Web Premium, Revit, SkecthUp, and 3DStudioMax.

I know it's a lot to ask from a tablet pc with an integrated graphic, but please note that I would only be using the tablet as a modelling tools. I can do all the extensive photo-rendering on my Macbook Pro @home, which has better graphics.

Right now I'm looking for a tablet because it'd be easier to carry around compared to Macbook Pro or Acer, both of which is a bulky 15.4".

My previous laptop is quite zippy in modelling in CAD/Max and can handle 600Mb Photoshop files quite easily. It only has a Pentium M 735 1.7Ghz, 1 Gb of RAM, and a 64 Mb ATi Radeon 9700. A moderate graphic notebook and yet I'm satisfied with the performance.

So, my question is : can T4220 with an integrated graphic match my previous notebook in term of graphic power ?

Here's the compulsory questions :

1. What is your budget? Around $1500 - $2000

2. Do you prefer a Slate, Convertible or Ultra Mobile PC (UMPC)? Convertible

3. What size Tablet PC would you prefer? Mainstream ~ 12.1"

4. Which country do you intent to purchase from? Singapore

5. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes? None

6. How many hours battery life do you require? min. 4 hours

7. What do you intend to use the Tablet for? Mostly to draw on CAD or Photoshop

8. Do you have an OS preference? Windows XP or Vista

9. What software and tasks do you intend to run? AutoCAD, Adobe Web, 3DStudioMax

10. Do you intend playing Games. If so please list. No

Screen Specifics