tablet for artists

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Frank Reid, Aug 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emma

emma Pen Pal - Newbie

Hello - Im new to this site - what a great find!

Im an artist and from what I can see of Tablets, my needs arent currently being catered for -

I am DESPERATE for a tablet pc. What I NEEEEDDDD is a 14 inch screen (minimum) dedicated tablet - I really dont need a keyboard at all - from what I can gather from my research on the net - the only tablets with 14 inch screens are convertible models - I dont need all that bulk and weight- I just want a LARGE SCREEN

Can anyone help?

Thanks - Happy New Year
    Emma :)

2. Barry J. Doyle

Barry J. Doyle Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Hi Emma,

I think you might have a difficult time finding just what you are looking for at this point. You are not alone in what you seek. There are a lot of users who desire a compact and lightweight Tablet with a larger display. I think we will see this as more demand arises for this combination. For now its a game of give and take. For a larger display, the penalty is weight. For a compact and light slate, well it seems that you are only going to find a smaller display. I would recommend either going for the Toshiba M4 with its large screen and excellent processing and video. Yes you will bare some extra lbs., but this machine will pay you back in spades when it comes to rendering tasks and video intensive applications.

3. Daring

Daring Moderator

Is there a particular reason you must have a 14" screen? There are several slates with smaller screens that have awesome screens and battery life and weigh quite a bit less then the Toshiba.

4. emma

emma Pen Pal - Newbie

thanks for your help guys -