T4210 Graphics Card Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Fujitsu' started by chaychay, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chaychay

chaychay Pen Pal - Newbie

I am very interested in purchasing a LifeBook T4210. The only draw back I see is that the T4210 lacks a dedicated graphics card (I require somewhat advance graphics card due to use of CAD software, primarily SolidWorks and AutoDesk Inventor.) However, in my interest to find a way around this obstacle, I ran into some information about the Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950: “PCI Express x16 port available. Single platform can be deployed for broad range of client user needs, allowing upgrades to higher performance 3D graphics cards if required.” (Source)

I am not an expert with notebook hardware, but I would assume this means I can add an additional graphics processing unit to bring the LifeBook up to my needs. Would this assumption be correct? If so, can anyone direct to me a resource to find these “higher performance 3D graphics cards”

Thanks so much your help :cool: ,

Jay Shah
    Toronto, Ontario

PS. The other tablet I am considering is the Toshiba Terca M7 because of it's Quadro graphics card.

Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2015
  2. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

This chipset you mention runs from the motherboard. As such it would require a complete change of the system and for that I can not see it as an option.

However, the chipset on the T4210 although not a dedicated graphics card standard is still quite powerful as it is.

Although games are not your pre-requisite, the chipset on the T4210 will allow you to play heavy graphics but at a reduced level.

I would have thought though that it would allow you to run CAD application data.

3. Badzoo

Badzoo Pen Pal - Newbie

The problem with CAD is that its requirements are different from gaming application :( Gaming application requires speed, CAD requires precision..