Surface Slim Pen 2

Discussion in 'Microsoft' started by COGBABY, Sep 24, 2021.

1. COGBABY

COGBABY Pen Pal - Newbie

A775AC96-C27C-4547-952A-CB2B1C3BE782.jpeg 46F2CC4C-1172-4772-A3E6-97D5E793828A.jpeg The pen has always been the dealbreaker for me with regard to Surface products. The high IAF and jitter made drawing an unpleasant experience.

But this new pen looks like a huge improvement.

Alexandria Neonakis, the artist who did the demo at the Surface event, seems to genuinely like it.

Who knows when I’ll get to try one out in person. Until then, I’ll wait for reviews from the likes of Brad Colbow.

Please post reviews of the new pen here as they become available.

Last edited: Sep 24, 2021
  2. darkmagistric

darkmagistric Pen Pro - Senior Member Senior Member

I'm very optimistic with the new pen. I've been using a Slim Pen 1 with my Pro 5 for 2 years now and even without the under the hood enhancements, the nib assembly in the Slim Pen 1 alone made it much nicer to use as you have very precise and natural control over the pressure. The jitter issue is annoying, but with Clip Studio, a little brush stabilization takes care of that.

So a Slim Pen 2 that takes advantage of under the hood enhancements I expect will be even better.

The only thing I dislike with the Slim pen 2 is the new sharper nib. I loved the rounded nib in the Slim Pen 1, and I typically hate sharper/pointier nibs (Samsungs S-pens over the past few years to note).

Eltos and COGBABY like this.
  3. neongolden

neongolden Scribbler - Standard Member

I’ve been so eager to hear impressions about how it feels in Clip Studio. I have a feeling it might literally be the best experience available.

I’m also seriously wondering if the haptic feedback here is to become the New Thing, with (hopefully) Apple and even Wacom scrambling to devise their own solutions. What do you think?