Surface Pro 3 Rumors

Discussion in 'Microsoft' started by dstrauss, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. dstrauss

    dstrauss Comic Relief Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,429
    Likes Received:
    1,188
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I ran across the following article on The Examiner:

    Surface Pro 3 is coming - Los Angeles Gadgets | Examiner.com

    It claims there will be a first quarter 2014 announcement, including: "...It will have a 10.6-inch screen with a 2,560 x 1600 (300ppi) pixel resolution display and a choice of an i5 or i7 processor that produces even better battery life than the Surface Pro 2. Most importantly, the device will only weigh 1.5 pounds--not perfect, but much more manageable than the current Surface Pro 2."

    You folks seeing anything out there on this? Sounds like a Surface 2 case with upgraded Core innards...
     
  2. dellaster

    dellaster Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    41

    What it sounds like is that I'm going to have a very hard time not upgrading to the SP3 next year if that rumor is correct. I was hoping to hold out until the SP4 and get a couple years, at least, out of my SP2. :p





    Sent from my Lumia 920 using Tapatalk
     
  3. dstrauss

    dstrauss Comic Relief Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,429
    Likes Received:
    1,188
    Trophy Points:
    231
    It really may not be that hard to resist. 1920x1080 on the 10.6" screen is already straining my eyeballs - can't imagine what 2560x1600 would do, particularly to the legacy desktop unless they do a MAJOR overhaul to scaling on the desktop (which is needed anyway, so you can bet they won't do it). Will losing 1/2# really going to make that much difference?

    My bet is that the Surface Mini may be the sleeper hit of 2014 if it includes Wacom. It must be pretty compelling if they were willing to holod it back from Xmas 2013 to not steal sales for the newer "2" models.

    Now, if the SPro 3 manages to tuck the stylus INSIDE the device, then I will be tempted (again)...maybe I should return this SPro 2 while I still can...

    Oh, I can hear the collective groan in the Tablet PC Review universe already...
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2013
  4. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Until desktop programs (at least the big ones) are updated to be high DPI friendly, I am not too exited with the resolution to be honest. But, if in a year time we have the popular programs high DPI friendly, then yea, it would be cool.

    That aside, as a wish list, I would love to see at least an entry level Nvidia or AMD GPU inside. They are far more power efficient than before. Seeing the Nvidia Tegra 5 with Kepler architecture, makes me wonder why a dedicated GPU version could not be done with this, and use it. Nvidia does have Nvidia Optimus which switch the graphic card off when not in use (uses Intel GPU). Both technologies together would be insane.
     
  5. surfaceproartist

    surfaceproartist Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    377
    Trophy Points:
    101
    I will steer clear of anything higher resolution than 1920x1080 until the desktop is gone for good, Microsoft has reimagined its UI scaling or Adobe and Autodesk totally revamp their software. Not very likely in 2014.
     
  6. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    41
    nah dude.
    If you check out Office 2013, Visual Studio 2013, Windows Vista and up, even Firefox (except in some areas that still needs work) they look gorgeous at high DPI settings. So it's possible. It's just a question of having developers spend a bit of time to test their software with high DPI, 'cause right now, they don't even check.

    Software companies don't need to rework the entire software to make it high DPI friendly, just the GUI part. A software can be seen as layers. Where you have a set of function, which are action or things a program can do, then you have a controller layer above that applies there function to do stuff, then you have the GUI on top, which allows you to execute these functions. Its more complicated than that in reality, but just a super brief overview.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2013
  7. surfaceproartist

    surfaceproartist Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    377
    Trophy Points:
    101
    What does nha mean?
     
  8. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    41
    A typo of "nah". Corrected.
    Urban Dictionary: nah
    A friendly or different way of saying "Not really", or "No".

    I didn't want to sound aggressive with "no", so "nah" was used.
     
  9. bloodycape

    bloodycape Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Isn't it a bit early to be talking about the SP3? Then again better battery life, and lighter, doesn't hurt but for some reason I get the feeling this is atom based on not icore.
     
  10. soh5

    soh5 Thinkpad or Bust Senior Member

    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Well this makes my decision to return my sp2 easy. I will wait to buy anything now until ces,is over at least.

    I returned my tpy. The matte finish made it really hard to read since everything was much darker. Ugh I have to suffer with my damn macbook 08 again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page