suggestion for a new model

Discussion in 'Axiotron Modbook' started by superspypig, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. detlef

detlef Pen Pal - Newbie

according to Mac Rumors Apple is developing a tablet.
    (http://www.macrumors.com/2007/01/17/full-video-ipod-in-2007-and-mac-tablet-in-2008/)

If Apple isn't than Axiotron should do it.

According to the rumor the Tablet Mac is targeted for the research and education markets. I have been working in research since over 15 years. I worked in academia and in the industry.

Coming from this background I will be giving below the specifications of a device that I would like. I strongly believe that many in academia and research grave for such a device.

I do read a lot of scientific publications. I use my desktop computer in my office to do the literature search and to download the publications in PDF form from an online source. Currently I print the papers and read the hardcopies. In my office hundreds of publications are stacked.

This practice costs a lot of paper and ink. Considering that almost all scientists in academia and industrial research have stacks of publications in their office one can imagine how much money could be saved with a useful device that would eliminate this practice.

Such a devise would not only save money but also make reading publications more convenient. One wouldn't have to carry hardcopies around anymore. Imagine, the only thing one would need to carry to the cafe, or during commute or during a business trip would be the tablet.

Such a tablet would also allow people to follow a presentation while it is given at e.g at a scientific conference. That would open the possibility to take notes to each slide of the presentation. Some people today follow presentations and take notes using their laptops but most people still use paper and pen. Using a tablet would be more efficient and effective.