SSD swap in the slate 500

Discussion in 'HP Slate' started by ships10, Dec 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ships10

ships10 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

I managed to successfully install my 128gb mydigital discount ssd into the slate .
    I am now trying to reinstall the OS from the recovery disk.However, it is stuck at the 0% stage of 'copying windows files' stage. It has been over 25 minutes.
    Is this normal? How long should it take to reinstall the OS ?
    I am doing this thru the slate usb port.
    The BIOS does show the ssd when I choose boot options .
    Update: I abandoned the installation and am now running the hard disk test via the BIOS.
    HD test successful. Trying to install windows again.....!
    Thanks.

2. cmergel

cmergel IT Mgr. / DBA by trade.

re: upgrading drive | Very cool... Ships, where are the pictures of the disassembly and reassembly? :) What is the make and model of the drive you upgraded to? I may have to look into that once my warranty expires. :)

Does it put back together nicely? Does the outside silver bezel fit back snug and tight? I have thought about it, but I'm scared. :)

re: 0% copying Windows | No, is not normal.

Have you tried to copy your recovery stuff on a bootable USB stick? I did it that way because I don't have an external CD/DVD.

Just a thought.

3. ships10

This is the ssd: MyDigitalSSD 128GB Bullet Proof Half Slim SATA II SSD | My Digital Discount
    I have some pics...I'll try to load them once I can get the OS loaded....I am so frustrated at the moment. I have tried several methods to try and reinstall the OS from the recovery disk....no luck so far.
    Yes , it does put back together....pretty well. You just have to be VERY patient, careful and gentle!
    Start to pry open from the bottom of the back where the 2 small openings are.
    Use a flat head screw driver and another one to elevate the silver bezel from