Sony VAIO Duo 13 for Digital Art and Illustration

Discussion in 'VAIO / Sony' started by ArtofScottHarris, Oct 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ArtofScottHarris

ArtofScottHarris Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi there!

My name is Scott, I'm a digital artist and illustrator, and I wanted to make this post on these forums to help any and all others interested in using the Sony VAIO Duo 13 for art. I have put things in a question and answer format for easy reading.

You can take a look at my art on ArtofScottHarris (Scott Harris) on deviantART. Please note that the below reflect my personal use, opinions and experiences with the Sony Vaio Duo 13.

Can you create professional digital art on the Sony Duo 13?

Absolutely! You can use this tablet in effectively the exact same way one might use a Cintiq Companion or T902.

Wait, wait, wait... I heard the N-trig pen doesn't work on Adobe Photoshop! What art apps does it work with?

First off, it would be more correct to say that it doesn't work on Photoshop... yet! Sony have officially stated that they are working with Adobe to have full N-Trig digitizer support in Photoshop CC and Illustrator CC in an upcoming update.

The apps it does work with currently include:

ArtRage, Sketchbook Pro, Freshpaint and Clip Studio Paint to name a few. As an artist I should add that Clip Studio Paint is a mind-blowingly amazing piece of software - it is effectively a "Photoshop for Illustrators and Artists", is just $50, and it's stroke technology will blow your mind. Take a look at CLIP STUDIO PAINT | CLIP STUDIO.NET. I highly, highly recommend it - not just for the Duo 13, but any tablet PC with a stylus.

What about Corel Painter, does the N-Trig stylus work in that?