Something for gaming and art

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by watchdog, Jun 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. watchdog

watchdog Scribbler - Standard Member

I've only been looking into tablet PC's for the last two days, but I've been thinking about a new laptop for a couple of months now. I looked over the forums and saw a couple of good answers but to make sure that I make no mistakes I decided to post my specific concerns. I am an artist, but all of my work has been pen and ink on paper, I want to branch out into more digital areas and I wanted to try my hand at doing art on my computer. I have one of Wacoms old Graphire tablets but I have not gotten used to drawing in such a detached manner (or maybe I should try drawing on something other than Photoshop). At any rate, I want something I can practice on but it does not have to be super portable. After that I also have a handful of games, nothing too heavy (I prefer console games to PC) but my main game focus is listed below although I dont hold out much hope from what I've seen online so far.

General Questions.

1. What is your budget?
    Ideally, $1,500, but anything up to $2,000 will do.

2. Do you prefer a Slate, Convertible or Ultra Mobile PC (UMPC)?
    A convertible

3. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?
    Small and light ~ 5" to 8.9"
    Compact ~ 10"
    Mainstream ~ 12.1"
    Large ~ 14"
    It doesn't matter

4. Which country do you intent to purchase from?
    Well I am currently in the US military, and am currently in a country with a lot of sand...Basically I need someone who will ship to an APO/AE address but there are options.

5. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?
    No

6. How many hours battery life do you require?
    2 at the least

7. What do you intend to use the Tablet for?