So... I got my Conceptd 7 ezel and I feel like I owe you guys a review

Discussion in 'Acer (Gateway)' started by jsinisi, Sep 23, 2020.

1. jsinisi

jsinisi Pen Pal - Newbie

Like the title says I bit the bullet and threw some money at my computer screen to buy this thing. Since I used this site to help make the decision I think it's only fair I give back a little.

A little background on me so you know where I'm coming from. I'm an industrial designer who's been using mostly an ipad for early concept work and sometimes client sketches for a few years now. I've also used an older cintiq, a couple of intuos's and an xp-pen knock-off. I got the coneptd as the ipads getting a little old and I'm finding myself wanting something a little more capable; at the same time my laptop died and I really needed something juicy to replace it that runs VR and solidworks passably well.

General Performance, Looks, etc...

I feel like other reviews have already covered the speed, looks, feel and all of that other stuff; plus people really want to hear about the drawing experience so I'll just give a few quick thoughts here.

First off it is definitely fast and plenty capable for VR/3d modeling that I need it for. I tried fallout 4 VR and it was playable with some reprojection. the optimization on that game is terrible so that tells me it's a pretty capable PC. I also have worked with a few of my larger solidworks files (145 parts at the largest) and it was passable there. if that's all I wanted it for and I had the cash I'm sure the workstation card would be better but it was perfectly fine.

The screen is nice. I'm not going to go to in depth here but to say the colors are vibrant and it has a nice almost paper like look to it. the only downside is that the matte texture seems to hold/show finger point oils better than average.