Smartphone as Shortcut Remote

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Lauscher, Sep 20, 2018.

1. Lauscher

Lauscher Pen Pal - Newbie

Would anyone be interested in an app that would turn your phone into something like the Wacom ExpressKey Remote?

I am currently studying Mediadesign/-Informatics and developed a prototype for such an app in a previous term. Now I am thinking about taking that prototype and develop it into a fully-fledged app as my Bachelor project.

As reference here is a small Concept video we shot for the app during concept phase:

I hope that this App could be a solution for the following problems.

First and foremost, provide easy access to shortcuts. Working with a big graphic tablet like a Cintq makes it sometimes hard or at least uncomfortable to reach for your keyboard for shortcuts. Older graphic tablets solved that with programmable Express Keys but it seems that Wacom moved away from that with their newer devices. Also on most 2in1 devices you don’t have access to the keyboard when you put it in tablet/drawing mode.

Prevent Clutter. With accessories like the Wacom Remote or similar devices you have to keep track of and carry around another device, but with your phone you already have a device at your hand which could do the same task with this app.

Provide an alternative for touch input. Some 2in1 devices suffer from bad palm rejection when the touch screen is active and many Cintiq alternatives don’t come with touch at all. This app could provide access to touch gestures when your device doesn’t come with it and without interfering with the pen input.

So what do you guys think? Would you be interested in testing the app?

Last edited: Sep 20, 2018
  2. Azzart

Azzart Late night illustrator Senior Member

Sure, idea is interesting.
    I remember Corel years ago made an app for iPad called Cinco that was supposed to be used as a shortcut controller for Painter on a computer.