sketchbook vs artrange

Discussion in 'Software' started by berky93, Mar 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berky93

berky93 Pen Pal - Newbie

I'm wondering, specifically functionality-wise (not counting the price) which program do you think is better? ArtRange or Sketchbook?

2. Kyle Porter

Kyle Porter Veteran Moderator Senior Member

I tried sketchbook pro and can say its a very nice piece of software. Mind you i am just a doodler. Here is a trial for Autodesk SketchBook Pro 2009 R1 for Windows. Try it out, i highly recommend it.

I cannot comment which is better, as i have only tried one and am not a artist.

Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2015
  3. leaftye

leaftye Old timer Super Moderator

I'm not an artist either, but I've tried both. The paintbrush in Artrage are unmatched in Sketchbook. If you actually want to sketch, then Sketchbook is far and away better. Actually, ArtRage has a problem when you try drawing small circles. I suppose the problem could actually be related to my tablet, but I can't duplicate the problem in other programs.

Sketchbook makes working with layers very easy. It's also more stable.

I've also tried TwistedBrush. I prefer Sketchbook for sketching.

Something else may be better for painting. It really depends what you want to do. Do you know what you want to do?

4. frog

frog Scribbler - Standard Member

I own both and I much prefer Sketchbook Pro

5. berky93

berky93 Pen Pal - Newbie

ok I'm going to try sketchbook pro - I already have the demo for artrange, so I will try sketchbook and see how it goes. I DO want to focus on drawing more than painting, so I'll get the sketchbook demo from autodesk.

6. berky93

berky93 Pen Pal - Newbie