Should I upgrade to Windows 10? [VivoTab TF810C]

Discussion in 'Asus' started by nessers, Jul 29, 2015.

1. nessers

nessers Pen Pal - Newbie

I have been using my VivoTab for over two years now. Mostly in desktop mode (mainly browsing the web and compiling LaTeX documents).

However I do have a mild use of the Metro interface, using some tablet-aimed PDF annotator when I have to fill in some forms or grade homework; last I checked Adobe Acrobat Reader wasn't great for that, although it may have changed in the new version. (I also used to take notes in OneNote, but this year I learned that I actually Live-TeX equally fast.)

Is the upgrade to Windows 10 worth the trouble? Is it reversible in case I don't like it?

Thanks...

2. Joshua A Gray

Joshua A Gray Pen Pal - Newbie

Well, I think its worth it. I just did it on my Dell Venue 8 Pro. Love it. Tablet Mode is pretty nice. Takes a lil getting used to but its kinda similar to that Linux feel. Yes you can reverse one of two ways, don't delete the Old Windows files after doing the upgrade (IDK why you wouldn't do this anyway because it takes up a ton of HD space and when you have 23gb as Drive C total like me, you need all the HDD Space you can muster) or you can create a UEFI Bootable USB with Windows 8.1 x86 to install. But this way you need to be sure to have a copy of your CD Key... I think. I haven't done it but it is a guess, or it might just go by your account.

http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/threads/windows-10-success.67123/

3. nessers

nessers Pen Pal - Newbie

Thanks, that's good to know.

However the Dell Venue 8 Pro boasts a far superior processor (from the screenshot in your other thread I see it's a Bay Trail Z3740 which is a 64bit processor). The TF810C has a 32bit Clover Trail atom processor. Which is why I'm a bit worried it might not be up to the task.

4. al p

al p Pen Pal - Newbie