Scribbler SC3100

Discussion in 'Electrovaya' started by orbit, Mar 18, 2007.

1. orbit

orbit Pen Pal - Newbie

What follows is a summary of my experiences with the Electrovaya Scribbler SC3100 after about ten months of nearly daily use. Quick background: I’m an MIS student at an engineering school, and I fund the bulk of my education by doing tech support. I’m the senior tech at a small IT company that employs 10-15 people, located within view of Clock Tower Place in Maynard, MA. (ring any bells?). The point of that info is that some people may not come across things I mention here. I’ll structure this review the way I experienced the device: the good news followed by the problems…

The good

Dimensions: I love slate tablets and I’ve used several, the 12.1” screen on such a thin device is a real treat. Writing on convertible tablets is like writing on a phonebook, the SC3100 feels more like a 2-3 subject notebook.

Battery: There’s no question that Electrovaya’s 9 hours are severely optimistic, but fact is that the Scribbler does have excellent battery life. My battery has been getting a pounding day after day since I bought it in August; many of my classes are two hours long, sometimes consecutively, and I don’t always find a seat near a power outlet. To this day, my tablet will go 4.5-5 hours on Power saver mode (Vista).

CPU Performance: Even on Power saver, the CPU is fast enough to satisfy all business needs (as long as your business isn’t rendering or the like…), and I have yet to come across a situation where I’m sitting in class waiting for my tablet to catch up.

Surface: I’ve seen debates about which is a better writing surface; smooth (HP TC1100, Electrovaya Scribbler) or “paper like” (Averatec C3500). I’ve tried both, and there’s no question: the novelty of having a rough texture and surface resistance wears off quickly. After taking notes in class daily for almost a year, the half hour it takes to adjust to writing on “glass” is absolutely worth it.