Samsung Galaxy Book 2 (2018)

Discussion in 'Samsung' started by Cuberdon75, Aug 10, 2018.

  1. Marty

    Marty Pen Pro - Senior Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,233
    Likes Received:
    2,958
    Trophy Points:
    231
    So I'm just gonna go ahead and ping our resident Samsung expert, @desertlap: ;)

    Is it now confirmed that the "Book3" we saw in the leaked roadmap from Notebook Italia was just a codename for the Book S?

    [​IMG]

    I mean "19.Q3" ends today, and there doesn't seem to any sign from Samsung of an impending or pushed back release of a new Galaxy Book...unless...your perceptive ears may have heard something down the grapevine. (pretty please) :)
     
  2. desertlap

    desertlap Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    1,990
    Trophy Points:
    181
    @Marty I hadn't seen this chart until now , but it does looks like something Samsung would author. Specific to a Book 3. We've heard conflicting information.

    When the 8CX was revealed we had multiple people tell us it was "obvious for a book 2 replacement" I think most just assumed a Book 3 but that could just as easily meant the Book S. Especially when you consider how much of a shift there was between the original book and the book 2

    Additionally we did hear mid year about a book 2 update coming around CES 2020. Add to that , talk about there being an 855 + variant specific for WOA on the way and……. your guess is as good as mine.:confused:

    PS: I also notice the Tab S6 is missing as well though that could be that originally they were just going to call it the Tab S5 originally.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
    Marty likes this.
  3. Marty

    Marty Pen Pro - Senior Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,233
    Likes Received:
    2,958
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Thanks for the update, @desertlap! Guess I'll need to wait until 2020 for more signs of life...ugh, this wait is excruciating.

    And, if some guy at Samsung actually thought the Book S was a suitable replacement for the Galaxy Book 1/2, he needs to get smacked upside the head! (We will count on you to administer the re-education. :))
     
    WillAdams likes this.
  4. JoeS

    JoeS I'm all ears Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Just noticed after today's Patch Tuesday that Win10 feature update 1909 is offered, at the same time as the general release. For once WOA is a first-class citizen. Yay. Too bad that there's almost no user facing features in this feature update. Oh well, I'll take it!

    upload_2019-11-12_23-31-55.png
     
    Steven Bickle and desertlap like this.
  5. JoeS

    JoeS I'm all ears Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Trophy Points:
    331
    If I may cross-quote from the Pro X thread: the Edge Chromium ARM build is available in the Canary channel (meaning frequent 'alpha' builds acting as the 'canary in the coal mine'. Canary builds may have serious stability issues, for those not familiar).

    I don't see a separate download link, so I take it the installer will know what to do. Well.. actually, if you already have Edge Chromium 32bit dev version installed, I'm not quite sure what the installer will do. Best guess: we need to uninstall the 32bit x86 version, and do a fresh install of the Canary build, which will then automatically choose to install the ARM version. Riiiiiight??? :confused: Wish this was easier / more obvious!

     
  6. JoeS

    JoeS I'm all ears Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Trophy Points:
    331
    So I installed the Canary version of Edgium on my Book2. I did this:

    - clear all history, cookies etc
    - uninstalled Edge Dev 32bit. It asked "clear history?", I chose "yes"
    - rebooted
    - downloaded Edge Canary for Windows 10 (no indication of ARM or not, so I guess the installer chooses)
    - installed it, installer didn't ask about ARM vs x86
    - going to Help > About, there's no sign of ARM vs x86. Annoying..

    First impression: seems snappier! Good lord, it's like I have a new machine, what a difference!! Honestly, I almost can't believe how fast it is now.

    So here's the surprise: even through I cleared just about everything, Edge Canary logged me right back in (I didn't have to do anything), and seemingly kept my TPCR login cookie, because I didn't have to re-login on TPCR either. Huh?
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
    nnthemperor and Marty like this.
  7. jhoff80

    jhoff80 Pen Pro - Senior Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Canary stores its data in a separate folder from Dev. Any chance you installed Canary in the past and then logged in?
     
  8. JoeS

    JoeS I'm all ears Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Only Edge classic and Edge Chromium Dev. Any chance it imports old Edge classic settings? I got back lots of Bookmarks that I had deleted since switching to Edge Chromium, including a folder "Other favorites".

    Anyway, it's up and running, and a lot faster than it was, nice.
     
  9. Steven Bickle

    Steven Bickle Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've just installed Edge Canary but it crashes straight away. I did look in task manager for the short few seconds it was ok and it didn't show that it was running in 32 bit. I have been using the old Edge and it has been quite good for me. Thanks for the heads up though, I've been periodically searching to see if there is an arm64 version of Edge Beta.
     
  10. Steven Bickle

    Steven Bickle Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I know you sent this a while ago but I thought I might reply anyway. You need to use the lower of the two ports with the symbol showing a rectangle within a rectangle? That is the only USB-C port that can output display. I have been using a Alogic ULDPLS-SGR USB-C dock and that works to connect to my 4k external monitor. It would be nice if it could drive both my 4k and 1080p screens but it can't. Might be a limitation of the USB-C hub I am using though. I normally charge through the other port though because it doesn't charge properly through the dock.
     
    JoeS likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page