Samsung Book 9 (emr) 940x5m

Discussion in 'Samsung' started by jbomb, Jan 20, 2020.

1. jbomb

jbomb Scribbler - Standard Member

I've been using this computer for a few years and over the last year, it has become almost impossible to draw in photoshop. I've been using version 19, and the newest version is worse. I've set the performance preferences to what they suggest, but it still doesn't help.

Any suggestions? will this be an issue with the upcoming replacement from Samsung?

2. Lilawyn

Lilawyn Pen Pal - Newbie

It's hard to say, but I'd love to know this too. Photoshop has become bloated and laggy across a range of devices I own (none of them currently Samsungs). I'm currently waiting on a Samsung Notebook 9 Pen laptop that will be delivered soon... so I may have more experience and/or advice next week.

Currently running: Photoshop 20.0.2 on a Surface Studio 2 and 20.0.5 on a Surface Pro 6

Things that I've tried to help diminish (but not entirely reduce) Photoshop lag beyond the Performance settings:
    + Reducing the screen resolution to 1920 x 1080 if it is any higher than that, and setting Windows native scaling to 100%. This has helped on devices that had higher than FHD resolutions.
    + Shutting down Chrome. On my 8GB RAM Surface Pro 6, Chrome was a HUGE memory hog. I got better performance out of Photoshop when Chrome was closed and not competing for system resources.
    + Keeping files smaller than 3000x3000 pixels, then scaling up 110-120% near the end of painting. This one hurt, and I would not suggest doing for any professional projects.
    + Not using Photoshop groups/folders. For some reason, introducing a Photoshop group/folder into a file creates TERRIBLE brush lag on my SP6. Removing them makes drawing bearable again, but only just. This might help out.
    + Turning off brush stroke previews / removing unnecessary brushes from the active library. Makes selecting a new brush a less horrifying experience in lag & bloat.