Road Warrior Seeks Tablet - R1 vs T4215 vs. x60

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by AP-123, Mar 3, 2007.

1. AP-123

AP-123 Pen Pal - Newbie

I’m looking for a table PC to replace my Sony TR-2PA3.

I’m a recent grad, in my second year start up, travel several times a month and am constantly preparing and giving sales presentation. This involves number crunching, with MS Access and Excel, image manipulation with Photoshop, note taking with One Note 2007, the usual email, IM and video conferencing with Skype. So I like the built in video cam.

My laptops get a lot of use, especially when I’m on the road. One of the biggest processor thieves I use is x1, the best search tool I’ve come across. It stays busy indexing your drive for instantaneous searches for files and email. I’m trying to wean my way over to Vista’s search tool, but it’s not quite as good. Lastly I burn cds at times to leave my completed work behind, but not terribly often.

The Sony has been great, keys and buttons are quite and the weight superb at 3-4 pounds with extended battery lasts me 4-5 hours, plenty. I would like to stay around the 4-5 pound range but trade up on the size and resolution of the screen. What are max resolutions of laptops now a days?

The three most popular Tablets on this site all look good to me, but It’s really hard to make a decision between the Asus R1 Tablet PC, Fujitsu LifeBook T4215 and the Lenovo (IBM) ThinkPad X60 Tablet.

The Asus looks the nicest with the most bells, but I haven’t actually seen one. The Fujitsu has a lot of happy owners and the Lenovo has been a trusted name in the business community.

Any thoughts or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Speed, weight, processing power, battery life, and resolution are my deciding factors. I’ve learned in my small start up, very small, just me - that to play you have to pay. Skimping on this purchase will only force a shortened lifespan.

2. Loaf.

Loaf. Scribbler - Standard Member