Revisiting the Surface Pro 4

Discussion in 'Microsoft' started by dellaster, Oct 1, 2020.

  1. dellaster

    dellaster Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Back in 2016 I had an m3 version of the Surface Pro 4 ($810, no type cover—I used a Bluetooth keyboard). I liked it a lot, then it black-screened and had to be returned for a refund. Microsoft’s online customer service via phone didn’t give me any option of exchange. My travels at the time precluded a repurchase, time passed and new, interesting devices appeared. Its day came and went, sadly.

    Lately I’ve had a hankering for something smaller than my ThinkPad 15”, larger than my trusty old Bay Trail 10”, with a good HiDPI non-1080p screen, decent keyboard, and reasonably low power consumption. I bought, then returned a ThinkPad X1 Tablet ($379, 7Y54 CPU, i.e. a Kaby Lake m5). Alas it was DOA, wouldn’t turn on or charge. Ebay had no other sales for that gen 2 model, so I thought “why not give the Surface Pro 4 another go?”. Got one off Swappa.com for $400, an i5 this time, 8/256 with type cover. Originally the cost would be $1299 + $129 for that configuration.

    It arrived in pretty much pristine condition. No issues at all, no visible damage, perfect screen—no sign of the “flicker-gate” flaw. What a great device for $400! I’m liking it a lot. The i5-6300 is plenty snappy enough for my everyday tasks, even light gaming, with a beautiful bright screen, and a type cover that’s a better typing experience than expected. It’ll do.

    Worth a look if one is in the market for an inexpensive 12.3” convertible. :thumbsup::newpalm:
     
    dstrauss likes this.
  2. dellaster

    dellaster Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    Trophy Points:
    181
    It’s interesting (?) that my SP4 is apparently not yet qualified for the 2004 update. It came with 1909, I full-wipe reset it upon receipt to be safe, and it has shown no sign of trying to update further even though I became a “Seeker” by clicking the Update button.

    Searching the internet for info, I gather that it’s hit or miss whether or not a particular model/configuration of Surface Pro qualifies? I wonder if it’ll skip bug-plagued 2004 and install the 2H 2020 autumn update when the time comes?
     
    Bronsky likes this.
  3. Bronsky

    Bronsky Wait and Hope. Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,116
    Likes Received:
    4,983
    Trophy Points:
    331
    That is quite an array of equipment you have in your sig.:newpalm:
     
  4. dellaster

    dellaster Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Even I think I’ve gone a little overboard this time. :vbeek::vbtongue:
     
    Bronsky likes this.
  5. DRTigerlilly

    DRTigerlilly Tablet Lead Mod (Retired) Super Moderator

    Messages:
    7,575
    Likes Received:
    742
    Trophy Points:
    301
    i'm going to hope the m3 and subsequent updates have reinforced the Surface Pro 4 from flickergate....but venturing down that path would give me the heebie jeebies regardless of the cost....
     
    dellaster likes this.
  6. dellaster

    dellaster Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Thanks. The one I have now is the i5 (the 1st one I had 4 years ago was the m3), it’s used and has been operated since the previous owner bought it in 2016. I’m going to hope that if it was going to develop a flicker or any other problem it would’ve happened by now. Knock on wood.
     
    Bronsky and dstrauss like this.
  7. DRTigerlilly

    DRTigerlilly Tablet Lead Mod (Retired) Super Moderator

    Messages:
    7,575
    Likes Received:
    742
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Everything crossed for good luck!

    Sent from my SM-N9600 using Tapatalk
     
    dellaster likes this.
  8. daddyfish

    daddyfish Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I wonder if flickergate can be prevented by throttling the cpu. Like setting max cpu in the power plan settings to 85-95%. I do this with my Pro 1, but for increasing battery life.
     
    dellaster likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page