Replacement for EP121?

Discussion in 'EP121 Slate' started by johnh, May 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnh

johnh Pen Pal - Newbie

I have been using an EP 121 since 2010. It has recently developed a sporadic fault which makes it spontaneously close down. l'll post a more detailed description to ask for ideas to fix the fault, but in this thread I'd like to ask for suggestions for a replacement.

My main use is for statistical modelling using R. I would want to have at least the processing power of the Asus. I think I would find a smaller screen (such as in the Surface Pro) difficult, and that seems to narrow the field quite a lot.

I also use Dragon dictation software, and use the stylus rather than touch. I don't need pressure sensitivity.

The Thinkpad Yoga seems to be a possibility, but on the heavy side; and the idea of feeling the keyboard underneath is a bit weird. I've also considered the Sony Tap 11, but the reviews are mixed.

I'd be grateful for any suggestions especially from people who have moved on from the EP121. I'm interested in current and upcoming models.

Thanks for any input.

2. TomTim

TomTim Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi johnh,
    take a look at the thread located here: http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/hardware/52592-list-windows-8-rt-tablets-convertibles-stylus.html
    There is an excel table on OneDrive with a good overview for size, weight and other key specifications on tablet pc's.
    And can you please fill out the form located at: http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/wha...ld-i-buy-form-must-filled-out-post-forum.html
    You say that you want atleast the power of your current EP121, so that would be enough for you? Just curious because I remember a thread some time ago where someone was searching a machine for the Dragon dictation software and from what he mentioned I thought that you would need a beefy machine to run that programm? And the Yoga is really too heavy? And please give us a hint on your budget.