reinstalling fresh Windows XP Tablet Edition

Discussion in 'Toshiba' started by LeMaudit, Jul 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LeMaudit

LeMaudit Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi guys,

I'm a Windows developer and I believe I will soon buy a Tecra M7 to work on the road. BTW Thanks to jritter for the great review. Can't wait to read part2 !

My problem is that I will need to buy a Tecra with a French Canadian keyboard, because I need the accents to write in French, but I also need to install the English version of Windows Tablet Edition to have an English only Development platform (weird, but mandatory). And the French Canadian Tecra I will order through Toshiba Canada will most certainly be delivered with the French Windows version only.

Being a MSDN developer, I sure have a DVD with the English version somewhere in the huge flow of DVD Microsoft send me ;-) but I wonder what kind of problems I will have to resolve by installing a fresh version from scratch, and not the Toshiba pre-installed one. Drivers problems maybe ? Anyone with a similar experience care to share ?

Thanks !

2. NiVeDh

NiVeDh Pen Pal - Newbie

Though I have access to an MSDN subscription, I reinstalled from a Windows Media Center Edition CD and used a Tablet PC Edition CD when it prompted me for some tablet files (Windows XP Professional Disk #2).

It accepted the OEM key on the bottom of my tablet.

I didn't have any problems. Make sure you have your drivers on hand, either burned to a CD or on a USB drive, because Windows will not recognize the Intel wireless or the LAN.

Install only the Toshiba programs you want and you're all set.

My computer is much faster now that I've gotten rid of all that Toshiba garbage.

3. LeMaudit

LeMaudit Pen Pal - Newbie

Many thanks for sharing your experience NiVeDh.

4. BlueBear

BlueBear Pen Pal - Newbie