Professional illustrator in need of buying advice

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by lealla, Jun 8, 2017.

1. lealla

lealla Pen Pal - Newbie

I'm a professional illustrator, and I need to buy a new laptop / 2-in-1 tablet combo / stylus. (Not Apple)

I currently use my cintiq for all my work, but it would be great to be able to take some of my work away from the desk, especially for sessions with clients.

Despite loving all my wacom products, I'm just not that keen on the Wacom Mobile studio. This is less of a cost problem, and more due to the fact that I would prefer something that is still somewhat like a laptop, with a keyboard. I also feel that the Wacom mobile studio seems a bit heavy and clunky by comparison...

Anyway, here we go:

1. What is your budget?

up to $2500 AUD

2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished?
    No

3. Do you prefer a media/mobile tablet like the iPad, Windows tablet PC, or notebook convertible?
    Notebook convertible

4. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?
    • 10 to 13-inches
    • Above 13-inches

5. Which country do you intent to purchase from [where do you live]?
    Australia

6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?
    No Asus or apple

7. How many hours battery life do you require?
    Ideally up to 5

8. What will be the primary usage scenario of this tablet? (Email/Web Surfing/Drawing/Word Processing/Entertainment/Notetaking etc)

I will primarily be using it for drawing (Photoshop/painter), however I will also be doing a bit of page layout/google-sketch up and email/web.

9. Do you have an OS preference? For example, do you own an iPhone and a Mac, or are you a Windows fan? Do you own an Android device and use Google services frequently?

It must run windows.

10. What software and tasks do you intend to run? (Microsoft Office or other Word Processing Suite/Photoshop/3D Studio Max/Autocad etc)