Print to OneNote 64 bit

Discussion in 'OneNote, Evernote and Organizers' started by turnerh1124, Aug 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. turnerh1124

turnerh1124 Pen Pal - Newbie

Anyone who uses MS OneNote 2007 knows that the ability to print virtual images into the program for reference and editing is a major if not fundamental feature of the software. However on 64 bit systems this feature is not available. For some reason or another MS has failed to realize the significance of this problem and release a patch or viable alternative for users. Do a basic Google search on the issue and you’ll find that for years now there have been countless posts on the issues and no alternatives that work the way that it is supposed to.

I am a college student and use OneNote for just about everything concerning school. It is especially useful for inserting documents (PowerPoint, PDF,etc…) that professors post online, I am able to manage and annotate these documents with my own notes inside OneNote. OneNote scans the documents for text and recognizes every word, allowing users to search for words and find them quickly no matter where they may be in their notebook(s). This feature is especially effective for online tests and quizzes where time limits may be an issue. I have even taken it a step further and inserted copies of my textbooks using a program called Snapter (a program which has comes a long way in recent years in its ability to convert photos into high quality “scanned” images).

However 64 bit users are unable to do this. Basically all you can in 64 bit OneNote is insert screen clippings and copy/paste. A highly ineffective solution when considering the alternatives.