Preventing theft

Discussion in 'HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom)' started by chrislbaird23, Sep 27, 2010.

1. chrislbaird23

chrislbaird23 Pen Pal - Newbie

I am a college student attending school this fall. I recently purchased a touchsmart tm2 laptop. What can I do to prevent it from being stolen.
    I was thinking of purchasing a lock but do not know which would work best for this laptop.

2. purplepeopledesign

purplepeopledesign Scribbler - Standard Member

I can't ever imagine leaving any expensive device unattended for even a second. So, IMO, the best security is to pack it up and take it to the washroom or up to the coffee counter. If you want to save your workspace at the library, leave a notebook on the table and a cheap sweater on the chair.

:)ensen.

3. deyanimay

deyanimay Scribbler - Standard Member

4. leaftye

leaftye Old timer Super Moderator

Keep your computer close. Always.

5. Agent 9

Agent 9 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Yep, purplepeopledesign is right, I've been using my Tm2 at college every day. I put it to sleep, put it in a sleeve, and toss it into my backpack (it's a single strap pack with a padded laptop section) whenever I have to do something else. If you carry it around in the open, don't leave it alone, just carry it with you when you move around.

If you don't leave it places, and take care of it you won't have to worry about it.

One thing you can do is have it display a text file with return information show up after failed login. (I read about that somewhere, not sure though) or take the background image for login and write in "Property of _______ if found, call me at __________. cash reward for return if not damaged, no questions asked"
    come to think of it I might do that. :)

6. nathanbarlow

nathanbarlow Pen Pal - Newbie

LAlarm is okay... but
    a) you have to actvate it using win+L,