Please help!!! Cracked HP Tx2000

Discussion in 'Hewlett Packard' started by GenuiNe, Nov 12, 2008.

1. GenuiNe

GenuiNe Pen Pal - Newbie

Hello.
    I have an Hp Tx2000 with a cracked protective glass (I dropped it:( "). However, the display and touch screen work fine :) . I wanted to know if it is actually possible to replace only the glass and about how much it would cost. Would I order an lcd replacement or something else? Please help I'm so confused!! Also, is this something I could do on my own? As a broke college student I'm trying to save every dime! Thanks!

2. Jor-dan

Jor-dan Tablet-Loving Student

it'd cost more to order a replacement and do it yourself.

Get yourself the accidental protection plan ASAP. Don't tell them it's broken. Wait a few weeks, then send it in for replacement.

First, a disclaimer: no I don't know if that'll work :p

Other idea: check eBay for a bricked tx2000. I think tx2500 might work too, but you'll need the corresponding pen.

3. DRTigerlilly

DRTigerlilly Tablet Lead Mod (Retired) Super Moderator

@ Jor-dan tx2500 & tx2000 use the same pen.

4. rocke86

rocke86 Scribbler - Standard Member

I've heard of someone taking the glass out and going to a local glass manufacturing company and having them make a replacement. Look around online.

Be careful to get the measurements perfect.

5. grajohnson75

grajohnson75 Scribbler - Standard Member

Sounds spendy...

6. Jor-dan

Jor-dan Tablet-Loving Student

Yeah, since posting that I've managed to find that out :)

The thing was... I was at a Fry's electronics, and they had a tx2120 and a tx2510 side by side... and the pens were NOT interchangeable... maybe there was just a driver conflict or something.. i dunno.

7. lexcavaj

lexcavaj Pen Pal - Newbie

actually, they are... i both have a tx2110 and tx2510 and im using the pen that came with the tx2110 on both machines. i think you should double check.

8. Thokas

Thokas Too many laptops...