Please help a university student

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by SimsHsia, Oct 28, 2007.

1. checkered_zebra

checkered_zebra Pen Pal - Newbie

Hello, and thanks in advance to anybody who replies.

I'm new to the tablet scene and have pretty much decided it's the way I want to go to take notes in my lectures at university. I live in the UK so options are limited, I can't even find anywhere that keeps models in so I can try one.

I've been considering the two below?

1. Are these good choices?
    2. Which is better?
    3. Is the extra price of the Toshiba worth it?
    4. Is there any other convertibles I should be considering?

Lenovo X61 Tablet 7767 £1,345.80 inc. VAT

Manufacturers #: UU5B8UK
    Memory - 1GB DDR II SDRAM
    Hard Drive - 120GB
    Display - 12.1in TFT active matrix 1024 x 768 Multitouch
    Battery - Lithium Ion 2.9hour(s) run time (max) (would buy 8 cell battery aswell to increase capacity £111.60 inc. VAT )
    Processor - Intel 1.6GHz Core 2 Duo L7500
    Operating System - Microsoft Windows Vista Business
    Optical Drive - None
    Wireless - 802.11a /b/g, Bluetooth

Toshiba R400 - 106 £1,534.97 inc. VAT

Manufacturers #: PPR40E-00901LEN
    Memory - 2GB DDR II SDRAM
    Hard Drive - 80GB
    Display - 12.1in TFT active matrix 1280 x 800
    Screen Resolution - 1280 x 800
    Processor - Intel 1.2GHz Core Duo U2500
    Operating System - Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate
    Optical Drive - None
    Wireless - 802.11a /b/g, Bluetooth 2.0 EDR

I have tried to answer these best I can.

General Questions.

1. What is your budget?

About £1400 - £1800

2. Do you prefer a Slate, Convertible or Ultra Mobile PC (UMPC)?

Convertible

3. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?
    Small and light ~ 5" to 8.9"
    Compact ~ 10"
    Mainstream ~ 12.1"
    Large ~ 14"

Mainstream

4. Which country do you intent to purchase from?

UK

5. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?