Past "high laptop performance" users: how does the transition process feels like?

Discussion in 'Lenovo (IBM)' started by Brian, Jan 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. t0ni

t0ni Pen Pal - Newbie

Hey all,

This is my first post :eek: .. I'm thinking of purchasing an x41t for the purpose of portability and battery performance. However, my past few laptop/pc purchases i've been very picky in choosing the best performance specs.

I currently own a Samsung x50 and here are the specs:
    Centrino 1.73Ghz
    1GB Ram
    7200rpm 80GB harddrive
    ATI Radeon x600 gfx card w/ 128mb video memory
    15.4 WGA Widescreen
    built in 4x DVD burner
    weight: approx 5.3 lbs (2.4kg)
    battery life: 2 hours

I've read many x41 reviews, and I know my laptop is a monster compared to the speed and performance of the tablet. I'm a university student and uses my laptop everyday taking notes, using alot of excel, etc. If I were to purchase the tablet I would have to give up my Samsung.

For users who moved from power to portable laptops: how have you "adapt" to the slower machine? Do you regret having longer loading time for the lighter weight?

I am very indecisive and confused, and it would be great if you guys can shed some light on this!! Thanks!

2. Brian

Brian Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

I really don't think you'll feel that much of a difference aside from booting or loaidng programs. Well, and gaming, but you know you're going to have to give that up with this machine, high end gaming at least. I've been on an ultra portable for 3 years and don't have any regrets.

3. t0ni

t0ni Pen Pal - Newbie

Thanks for your reply Brian!

I was wondering if you use alot of memory intensive programs like photoshop, flash, excel? I wasn't too sure if the low voltage CPUs in a tablet can handle it.

4. Daring

Daring Moderator