Optimal use of PowerPoint on a tablet PC

Discussion in 'EP121 Slate' started by lblb, Dec 19, 2011.

1. lblb

lblb Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

UPDATE September 2, 2013

For those interested in the subject, the discussion below is a little old. I have now developed a toolbar to use with PowerPoint that is much more efficient:
    http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/edu...-use-powerpoint-tablet-pc-more-efficient.html

Original post:

Hi,

This post is about setting up your tablet PC to make it easier to annotate and draw on slides during a PowerPoint presentation. If you are not interested in the subject, then it’s probably not worth your time reading any further!

The EP121 is the first tablet that I have ever owned and it’s been a real life-changer for my work. I am a college professor and using a tablet PC to directly annotate pdf files has been a huge time saver.

One of the main reasons why I bought a tablet though was that I wanted to use it to annotate and draw on slides during PowerPoint lectures. I figured that tablet PC’s and PowerPoint were a natural match and that there had to be great ways to use them together. I was actually very surprised when I started using my EP121 with PowerPoint that this is actually not the case: you can annotate PowerPoint slides during a presentation but you have to right-click on the slides (or use an icon at the bottom of the slides) then select items from dropdown menus. The whole process is very clumsy and is in fact not very elegant for the audience.